Kentucky prostitution law

Kentucky has some very strict guidelines and prohibitions on acts of prostitution. While the simple act of prostitution doesn’t come with a heavy sentence, the promotion of prostitution carries some much more serious penalties. The Bluegrass State prohibits prostitution, but it also protects defendants’ rights during trials.

Prostitution in Kentucky is defined as when one engages in or offers to engage in sexual conduct with another person in exchange for money, valuables or another fee. Sexual conduct is considered sexual intercourse or any other act of sexual gratification involving the genitals. Prostitution is a simple class B misdemeanor that may be paired with a sentence of up to 90 days imprisonment and a fine of $250. Anyone convicted of prostitution will be ordered to undergo an HIV test. Results will be given to the convicted defendant and the court. If the defendant is found to be charged with prostitution again, he or she may be subject to being charged with a class D felony if there is proof that the manner in which the crime was committed is likely to spread the disease.

There are three degrees of promoting prostitution under Kentucky state statutes. They all involve the advancing of prostitution through direct or indirect actions. The most serious level is Promoting Prostitution in the 1st Degree. Anyone who advances prostitution by forcing or compelling another person to engage in prostitution may be convicted of the offense in the 1st degree. Intimidation or violence is included as a factor that makes the offense classified as 1st degree, as well. If someone benefits from the coercive acts of another, he or she may also be found guilty of this offense in the 1st degree. Originally a class C felony, this offense takes on an even more serious charge of a class B felony if a minor under the age of 16 years old is involved. It becomes a class A felony if the minor receives physical injury as a result of the crime.

Promoting prostitution in the 2nd degree is when someone knowingly profits from or advances the act of prostitution by overseeing or owning a house of prostitution or enterprise involving two or more prostitutes. Defendants found guilty of this class D felony may receive a sentence of 1 to 5 years and/or a fine from $1,000 to $10,000.

The 3rd degree offense is simply a class A misdemeanor and is when someone knowingly advances from or profits from prostitution.

The laws state that anyone who knowingly permits prostitution on premises he or she owns may be found guilty of a class B misdemeanor. This charge also includes when a person fails to stop or cease the use of his property for such purposes.

Loitering is also specifically addressed by Kentucky statutes. One who remains in a public place or area for only the purpose of prostitution can be convicted of a simple violation on the first charge and a class B misdemeanor on subsequent offenses.

One unique aspect to Kentucky laws governing prostitution is the protection of defendants against uncorroborated testimony. Some states allow this type of testimony in order to convict defendants. However, the law specifically states that no defendant may be convicted solely on the uncorroborated testimony of a patron or the testimony of a person whose activity he or she is alleged to have advanced or profited from.


The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada