While there are no laws against escorts, laws prohibiting prostitution in Florida are specific and fully explanatory. Prostitution, pimping, brothel ownership and trafficking are strictly prohibited by Floridian statutes, with sentences and punishments laid out for all offenses. The courts in Florida are more liberal with the allowance of witness testimony and provides legislation allowing victims to sue defendants in civil court for damages.
Prostitution in Florida is recognized as the giving or receiving of one’s body for sexual activity on a per hire basis. The definition excludes sexual activity between spouses.
Lewdness is any obscene or indecent act.
Assignment means that one has made an appointment or set up an engagement for the purpose of prostitution or lewdness. Assignment also refers to any act that helps to aid or further the advancement of prostitution.
Sexual activity is defined as all acts involving the sex organs. The definition excludes all actions taken for legitimate medical purposes.
Sex trafficking is illegal
Florida statutes forbid the enticement, recruitment, transportation or harboring of a potential prostitute when knowledge is possessed that prostitution acts will be engaged in because of force, fraud or coercion. This offense is considered a Felony in the 2nd Degree. However, if the individual involved is under the age of 14 years old or the situation results in death, the crime is classified as a Felony in the 1st Degree.
Testimony in court
Florida courts allow the testimony of witnesses who can tell accounts about the defendant or his reputation. Typically, this type of testimony is not allowed, as it is not considered factual, but it is opinion. Testimony concerning the reputation of a place may be allowed in court, as well, to prove the guilt of brothel owners. Police officers and other members of law enforcement may testify in court against defendants facing charges involving prostitution.
The state of Florida provides legislation that allows anyone arrested on a prostitution charge to request STD screening. The defendant is required to pay all costs associated with the testing. If the defendant is determined to be infected, he or she is required to consent to treatment.
If a defendant is convicted, he or she is required to undergo STD screening. If infected, the individual is required to submit to counseling and treatment prior to being released from community control, probation or incarceration.
Anyone who has knowledge of an STD infection and is convicted subsequently on charges of prostitution will also be charged with for additional offense relating to the spread of an STD. Conviction of this offense is a Felony in the 3rd Degree.
Compelling, forcing or coercing another person to become engaged in prostitution is a Felony in the 3rd Degree.
The acceptance of proceeds from prostitution is a Felony in the 3rd Degree.
A third offense of basic prostitution becomes a Felony offense of the 3rd degree. Before going to court, a defendant with three or more convictions on his or her record may choose to enter an intervention program or a substance abuse treatment program. Anyone who is convicted of encouraging another to engage in prostitution faces a minimum fine of $500, which supports the previously mentioned treatment programs.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Colorado prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Hawaii prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kansas prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maine prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Jersey prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Vermont prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Philadelphia
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle